top of page



Elba is a County Seat for Coffee County and is centrally situated in the Wiregrass Region of Southeast Alabama alongside the confluence of Whitewater Creek and the Pea River.  With a population of approximately 4,000 residents, Elba is home to several business and industry enterprises:  Pitts Enterprises, Inc. (Dorsey Trailers), Ben E. Keith - Southeast Division (formerly Kelley Foods of Alabama) and National Security were founded in Elba.  In addition to numerous local professional and retail enterprises, agriculture (peanuts, poultry and forestry) is a driving force in the area economy.

The City of Elba (originally called Bridgeville), founded in the 1830's, shortly after Alabama became a state.  In the early 1850's, the town was selected as the County Seat, incorporated and the name was changed to Elba through a contest in which names suggested by local residents were placed in a hat.  One local had been reading a biography of Napoleon and proposed the name Elba.

The mission of the leaders of the City of Elba is to provide sound municipal leadership that enhances the safety, economic prosperity, and quality of life for its citizens.

The City of Elba is governed by a Mayor and five member City Council. Mayoral and City Council candidates are elected to four year terms.  There is no limit to the number of terms that a Council member or Mayor can serve.  

Current Elected Officials:

Mayor: Tom Maddox

Councilperson, District 1:  Johnathan Lockett

Councilperson, District 2:  Gappa Wise

Councilperson, District 3:  Jane Brunson (Mayor Pro-tem)

Councilperson, District 4:  Bryan Grimes

Councilperson, District 5:  A.R. Williams

Current Appointed Positions:

City Clerk:  Sally Bane

Police Chief:  Int.Shayne Arnett

Municipal Court Judge:  Gloria Dyess

City Attorney:  Bart Boothe

City Department Directors/Supervisors:

Electric Department:  Vic Davis

Water Department: Melissa Morris

Sewer Department: Johnathan Walker

Street Department:  Andy Wood

Elba Municipal Court:  Dawn DeVane

Library:  Jennifer Amlong

Senior Center:  Donna Falls

Recreation Department:  Greg Hanchey

Other Administrative Staff Members:

Assistant City Clerk: Felisa Cole

Assistant to the Mayor: Sandra Berry

Water & Electric PersonnelAshley HortonCara Patterson

Code Enforcement Personnel:  Bryson Dear

bottom of page